Kirkbampton Parish

Parish Council

The first meeting of the Council was on 4th December 1894. The following were elected:

  • Amos Bulman – Studholme
  • David Wills – Little Bampton
  • Jonathan Holliday – Kirkbampton
  • John James – Little Bampton
  • George Liddle – Holly Bush
  • John Stewart – Kirkbampton
  • Thomas Stobbart – Kirkbampton
  • John Thompson – Little Bampton

The community used to vote at Aikton but in July 1895 a Polling Station in Kirkbampton was requested.

There was no business done in June & November 1898 due to lack of attendance.

At many early meetings the only business was reading of the Minutes of the previous meeting.
In March 1932 problems with gypsies were noted in the Minutes and the County Council was requested to fence in the area.

February 1938 – disaster! – the accounts were overdrawn by £1 6s 8d (roughly £1.33).

For many years elections appear to have been held every year and the nomination papers were just given to the Chairman who checked them to see if they were all in order. Only 1 election has been held in the history of the Council and that was in 1997.